Food for Thought (for our seventies)

When do our self-inflicted eating restrictions end?

 

Cheese Pizza

I think there aught to be a declared age, starting with us boomers, let’s make it 70, that when we hit that age, we get to eat whatever we want. Milkshakes for breakfast, pizza every weekend (for those that love it as much as I do, and are 70 or older.) Real butter, more than they say we should have. How about a small lake of it in the middle of our mashed potatoes, made with cream, not skim milk. Going to a movie? Forget the “small” popcorn, no butter. Make it a bucket for every qualifier, and a regular Dr. Pepper to wash it down. None of that artificial stuff. (Don’t forget my discount.)

You’re up late watching a movie and you’d like to have some nice healthy grapes. No problem. Wait a minute… you’re diabetic and should limit yourself to six small grapes? No thanks, a bunch will be just fine.

I mean, really… what are we trying to do… extend our life to 92 instead of dieing at the wee early age of 87? I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I don’t do any drugs other than the ones my doctor tells me to take.

Give me a break. Just let me “live on the edge” in my seventies and (hopefully) eighties, have my cake (chocolate on chocolate please) and eat it too.

Anyone else feel the same way? Let’s hear it. Maybe we can start a movement.

About Les O'Riley

A technical writer by trade, I was laid off during the recession. I am currently finishing my Master's degree in Occupational Safety & Health. I am the Safety Lab Graduate Assistant for Southeastern Oklahoma State University.
This entry was posted in 2010 November and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Food for Thought (for our seventies)

  1. Carl Stapf says:

    Life is too short… My wife just passed away from brain cancer and she did live her life too the fullest. She was 105 lbs and used to eat a good helping of grub (vittles) (LOL) The only thing that stopped her from gaining weight was she had a high metabolism and could take the weight off very easy, but at least she ate what she wanted when she wanted. She loved food as I did, my metabolism is not as quick as hers but when it came to holidays we did not scrimp on taste verse calories, taste always won. If you eat normally, God put the ingredients on this planet for us to enjoy, take advantage of the delicacies as you may not have time to enjoy them when you are called away. This has to be put into perspective for those who are diabetics or have a similar condition. Just do it sparingly in proportion and per Doctors orders.

    • Les O'Riley says:

      CJ: I’m glad Trenia enjoyed a good life with you. Knowing your skills in the kitchen, which runs in the family, I know you served up some good stuff to her too. And vica versa. But cuz, must we always watch what we eat as directed by our doctors, until the day we pass? I’m under the impression that each decade older we make it, the more food they ban, for the sole purpose of helping us live longer. Would it be so terrible to indulge a bit more toward the end, enjoy life a little more, even if perhaps our lives wind up just a bit shorter? That’s what I’m wrestling with. In fact, whatever we have at Thanksgiving that’s the most delicious, I’m taking a big bite for Trenia this year too. We won’t forget her.

  2. Carl Stapf says:

    I’m not saying we should stop eating big, tasty, high caloric meals I’m just saying the body changes as we get older and we should regulate a happy medium between healthy and let say fatty. When you are young normally your body will dissolve the fat through exercise at a quicker rate then when you are older. When you get older and slow down the metabolism the body takes the excess fat and puts them in storage, probably passed down from our cave dwelling ancestors. I.e. how many times I have you got into a car to go to a store instead of walking or riding a bicycle? I know when I was young and did not have an automobile or a driver’s license I used to ride my bike for over 20 miles a day with no problem now I either drive the car or motorcycle.
    All I’m saying is when older it would make you feel better to eat drink and be merry – in moderation but not to put health in front of taste. I believe you have just have so many years on this earth, enjoy your time while you visit here.
    Happy Thanksgiving and Bon appetite!

  3. Lucien Rose says:

    If you have reached the age of 70, the harsh reality is your health care options are now somewhat limited. In the near future with Obama Care, you will not be treated for certain illnesses because the cost:benefit ratio is bad. Why spend several hundred thousand dollars on a, say, 70 year old, who has already lived up most of his/her aloted time on earth? (I know this to be true because that’s the way nationalized health care is administered in all other nations that have it. I’m not saying I am necessarily against the practice in every case). So….if the government doesn’t believe you should have certain preventive diagnostic tests after a certain age, (another characteristic of nationalized health care), then, sure, why not have some choc, choc. cake? The gov’t certainly suggests you should be less concerned with your health….and maybe they’re right.

    • Les O'Riley says:

      We can be concerned about our health, but not obsess over trying to eliminate every iota of something that is thought to be less than ideal for us. For instance, a 93 year old man need not be concerned that he needs a radical prostatectomy just because they found some abnormal cells. Those cells won’t win the race if the man’s 93. Time to enjoy life day by day and be thankful for each one. Back on track though, Lucien, I agree that if health care comes down to mostly Gov’t choices, they will eventually decide a younger person’s life is more important to mine. (Or will it be the rich person’s life that is more important to them… perhaps if they know you’re tied to their political party… now wouldn’t that be grand?) Seriously though, if I’m 93 and someone drags me to the hospital, I hope they do let go and take care of a younger person. Let’s face it, we’re not meant to be here (or try to be here) forever.

  4. Mary says:

    Hey,you young’ns. This comes from a person that has lived awhile, 85+ years and as Carl says we only have so many days on this earth, even the hairs on our heads are numbered. How about if we ate the healthy way from birth to 70 and then maybe we could have what we want, no, by then we would be in such a rut with our eating habits that we would not have the desire for that other stuff. I also feel moderation is the way to go. Government stay out of my private life, what I eat is none of their business.

  5. cliff says:

    Well I remember when being 50 was really old and useless and now I’m 53 but i still feel much as I did in my 30’s, except for about 20 middle-age things that happen on and off— and I still weigh exactly the same, so maybe when i’m 70 I’ll still feel I’m in my 30’s and eat like I did then to keep it going. Erma Bombeck and Art Buchwald both said if they knew they were going to die sooner than they knew it they would bave eaten more chocolate eclairs.

  6. Larry Lowe says:

    Reminds me of what my dad said about watching my mom’s diet. Since she was diabetic, we were always after her to be strict about what she ate. I was appalled when my dad said she should eat what she wanted – so what if she lived a few years less – better to be happy. It makes more sense now that I am a bit older and hopefully wiser that we need to enjoy ourselves and sometimes suffer some consequence. It’s all a gamble!

  7. Barb says:

    Amen, Les.
    I think you could start an new movement with this platform. Maybe even run for office.

Leave a Reply

