My #1 Goal is to Write for a Newspaper

Writing is in my blood. Since my dad worked for The Wall Street Journal as Assistant Managing Editor for most of his career, I’ve been exposed to a lot of the published world. While I was growing up, my dad subscribed to Newsweek, U.S. News & World Report, TIME, National Geographic, and probably a few other publications that slip my mind. He also read the New York Times, and glanced at the New York Post (rag) traveling from Wall Street to 20th and First. The cartoons provided a distraction for the subway ride home. My mom completed the NYT Sunday crossword puzzle every weekend. How anyone can finish that correctly, week after week, I’ll never be able to fathom.

While I know that many publications have gone by way of the dinosaur, I also know that there will always be people that want to read interesting, well written articles.  Perhaps it will all soon be “online only.” That’s okay too, as long as channels of communication are still in place, writers will continue to write, and readers will continue to read. My first article will be entitled, Where do you want to die?

If you find something of interest here that you care and about and would like to comment on, please do.  ~ Les

About Les O'Riley

A technical writer by trade, I was laid off during the recession. I am currently finishing my Master's degree in Occupational Safety & Health. I am the Safety Lab Graduate Assistant for Southeastern Oklahoma State University.
This entry was posted in 2009 September and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My #1 Goal is to Write for a Newspaper

  1. Lucien Rose says:

    Les,

    I am very pleased that you have decided to blog. And although I anticipated you would be a fairly good writer, you actually are a very good writer.

    This subject, ‘The End’ is an interesting place to ‘Begin’ your Blog. Although most may not like to contemplate the question you ask, “Where do you want to die?”, I for one have a strong interest in the answer as it pertains to me. For as soon as I learn where I am going to die, I’ll be sure to stay for away from there. 🙂

    Luc

    • Les says:

      We can run, Lucien, but we can’t hide. Actually, by the time our time comes, we’ll be lucky if we can “walk, but not hide.” 😀 ~ Les

  2. Shannon says:

    Les,
    Great article. A sobering question, and since the children of “baby boomers” will soon be tackling the issue with our parents, we really need to be considering such hard questions. In speaking to a woman from Sri Lanka, I realized how differently American families treat the elderly. In Sri Lanka (and, likely, many other countries considered “less developed” by Americans), the elderly live at home until their family absolutely cannot care for them any longer. Generations of families live together, providing roots, care, and stability for everyone. I wonder how much better the health – emotional and physical – of our elderly would be if we were more willing to truly extend ourselves on behalf of our elderly family members.

    I, too, feel that a medical power of attorney is absolutely essential for every adult. Not just a document containing a DNR, but also appointing a health care agent and making the hard decisions ahead of time.

    Keep up the good work!

    • Les says:

      Shannon, I totally agree with you. I know that the Chinese are like that too. It’s their “way of life” to have their parents live with them, to take care of them as they once took care of their children. The elderly are respected, honored, and many family generations live together and care for each other physically and emotionally. I wonder how many generations ago we gave up such a life. I guess when our lives became so full of comforts, for some reason we all struck out on our own, or felt we could get along without our parents and/or grandparents, and that they could get along without us. Now, if we’re not wanted or deemed an inconvenience, we’re tucked away in some foul, smelly nursing home where life is, shall we say, less than ideal. If there are any really nice nursing/long term health care facilities, most of us can’t afford them anyway. As for Iris and me, I hope we’re not an inconvenience for whichever of our kids are lucky enough to wind up with us. We have our docs drawn up already. No heavy medical intervention for either of us. Then when we’re gone, we’re available for whoever can use some good parts, (assuming we have good parts left,) and then ashes to ashes, dust to dust, cremation, and a ride on the wind. The nice thing is, even if this all went down tomorrow, (wait, I have to finish mowing the lawn,) I would have to say that I’ve already had a very happy, fulfilling life. Very few regrets. Thanks for your comment.

  3. crisn says:

    Les,

    What can I say? Good job will be an understatement and you surprised me with the intro. My hats off to you & your new blog site.

    By the way, aren’t you importing your old blog to this new site?

    • Les says:

      Thanks, Chris. I’ll get with you by private E on the topic of importing my old one over. Not a bad idea. I had thought of starting this one fresh, with a new direction. I’ll give this some thought and get back to you.

      Tell me, what part, or coast of the Philippines are you in/on? I see that tropical storm Ondoy (Ketsana) is nearing typhoon strength, and you told me that many areas were already flooded. If it’s travelling East to West, it looks like it has passed over you and is headed for the coasts of Cambodia and Vietnam. Are you out of it yet? I would like to know so I can watch updates and see that you are hopefully in better shape, not worse. Perhaps if you have many friends far away from the Philippines as I am, you could post updates on your blog so we’re not all bugging you. Be safe, and stay in touch.

  4. Eric says:

    Hello son of editor.The book sounds interesting. I’ve recently read Joseph Campbell Pathways to Bliss and he covers polarity quite
    well. Yoga psychology. Acceptance. Choices.
    Met a one legged sailor playing clarinet in Pago Pago Samoa.(70ish) Sold his artcles to the mags.
    Follow your bliss!

    • Les says:

      I may have to check him out, if I can ever catch up with the books I have piled around waiting on me to read. Wikipedia says that he is best known for his work in comparative mythology and comparative religion. Can you imagine how interesting a person must be to be “best known” for work in comparative mythology? His mindset boiled down to an interesting philosophy of his own, as he titled the book you read, follow your bliss.” Thanks for the share.

Leave a Reply

