February 2010: What’s new.

Still Job Hunting. Finally, a few more interviews.

February is almost over. I’m still hot on the trail of employment. I’m now doing my online job hunting at our local library. I actually have a “room with a view.” I’m sitting at a desk with my trusty Macbook, conveniently next to an electrical outlet, and directly facing floor-to-ceiling windows. The street may not be much to look at, but I can see the wind blowing through the trees, and the clouds passing by. It’s more of a view than my office job ever had. Seeing an occasional passerby also reminds me that I’m not the only one left in civilization, as staying at home and researching job opportunities often makes me feel.

My wife works just around the corner and today we had lunch together at one of our local eateries, Sundays Heartland Cafe. It’s a great little family restaurant that’s only open for breakfast and lunch. Full floor-to-ceiling windows on the storefront make it a nice sunny place to enjoy a quick meal. They’ve had such success that they just leased the space next door and tripled their seating area. The owner told me today that even with the expansion they’ve been full for lunch every day this week. I hope they have continued success. They’re very reasonably priced, personable, clean and fast. Not to mention they’ve got a good variety of tasty meals and daily specials. Get there early enough and you’ll get a free piece of cake with lunch. Not much help with a diet, but it’s tasty. (No, I don’t work for them, I just like good food.)

A restaurant mini-review may not have anything to do with job hunting, but if you live in the Durant, Oklahoma area and are reading this, at least you found another place to drop in for a bite. I’ve already posted a link at the top of the page about my job hunting adventures, so I won’t repeat them. Maybe this will be my month. Okay… back to my quest.

About Les O'Riley

A technical writer by trade, I was laid off during the recession. I am currently finishing my Master's degree in Occupational Safety & Health. I am the Safety Lab Graduate Assistant for Southeastern Oklahoma State University.
This entry was posted in 2010 February and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February 2010: What’s new.

  1. Anthony says:

    I liked that coffee shop “Main Street Coffee Bar” last time I was in town. Good coffee and free WiFi, what else do ya need? Might be a good spot every now and then just to mix it up.

    • Les says:

      Ahh, Anthony… I went to the Main Street Coffee Bar just last week to have a cup of joe and do a bit of surfing, only to find a big fat “For Sale or Lease” sign in the window. They are no more. I believe it was a simple case of not enough income in relation to the bills they had to pay. Mortgages for a commercial place have to be ridiculous, no matter what city one is in. We do have one other coffee place in town, and I went there on Thursday. Unfortunately, the radio was too loud to enjoy staying there for very long. One way or another though, I agree with you and Barb, it’s nice to get out and about and pop into different places now and then. On a wild note, and not that I’m going IN there, I heard that all 10,000 (I think that’s the number) McD’s in the U.S. now have free wireless, so that should just about have us all covered, everywhere we go. They’re a monster, aren’t they?!

  2. Barb says:

    I wish I had a restaurant like that near me. I think it’s a great idea to do your research outside the home.

    A lot of it’s networking and sitting in the sunshine or being close to the world goes a long way in keeping positive thoughts in front of me.

    Something good is coming toward you.

    • Les says:

      I see in my “tag” I spelled the restaurant name wrong. It’s actually “Heartland” not “Hearland.” I’ll have to see if I can correct that. It sure is nice to get out and enjoy other people, sunshine and the breeze in the air. Thanks for the nice thoughts. I’ll have a cup for you the next time I go to Heartland.

Leave a comment